Nostalgia for the simpler life!

Even as i struggle to move on in life, i keep rewinding to what happened going over every detail trying to figure just what went wrong?

And i find myself blaming technology for all the mess. The easy access to anything and everything, the anonymity it can provide, the mask it lets you put on, it even enables you to be deceptively at two places at once. The rapid proliferation of the internet has brought on more complications in relationships than were imagined earlier.

And that’s when I long for the ‘good old days’…

…when technology was not as central to our lives. It does have its good and its bad, but i feel its brought on more bad than good. Especially the internet and the mobile phone has ruined many a relationships.

Yes, yes, i know… I wouldn’t be blogging if not for the very technology that i am blaming my ruin on.

Handwritten letters seem to make us more eager to tell stories and to offer expressions of love.         – Anne K. Fishel, Ph.D.

I remember writing long letters to penpals and eagerly waiting for their replies. Checking with the postman if there was a letter for me with an international postage stamp. Then ofcourse there was the ‘labour for love’. The letters to my sweetheart. And the little notes of love, sometimes encouragement, he would leave for me on my bag, in my books. Sigh.

In the 80s viewing TV was perhaps the most technological thing a family did. And even then it was a family activity when everyone sat in front of a single TV in the house where only a single channel played. Kids actually went out of the house to play instead of wrestling with the characters playing off a flat screen and playing meant climbing tress, having bike races, catching the butterflies and getting dirty. The discipline issues with them at home were talking much, wearing hippie clothes, stealing pennies for gum or an ice-cone and at school, running in the hallways, making too much noise and not putting paper in the wastebasket.

Those days could buy you a kite, an ice-chip, stamps, even a one odd nail polish bottle for a few pennies. Fun and spending time together meant your aunt taking you and your cousins to the circus. I remember i was promised the trip if i finished my science lesson by the evening. And for sure i did, cos i was eager to see the magical things that men and animals did under a huge tent.

One blogger on WordPress Gaasedal’s Weblog has posted something that i read a few weeks ago myself in one of the forwarded mails i received. In one of the comments she received, blogger rkulovany has given a lovely account of his childhood and the good old days.

Ofcourse, I wasn’t born then. But I did live for a decade before internet invaded our lives. I miss my school days. I miss writing notes. I miss meeting friends and planning picnics. I actually miss taking permission from my parents to have a sleepover at my friend’s.

No matter how technologically savvy we get, our nostalgia for premodern times when natural bonds to kith and kin were unshakable continues to surface.

Life was much simpler in the good old days, but ofcourse, we did not have all the wonderful advantages of modern technology.

2 responses

  1. Technology is both a gift and a curse; I couldn’t agree more. But it’s our responsibility to stay honest as we move forward… And I do think it’s possible to use technology wisely and morally in a way that allows us to – in fact – deepen the relationships we share with our loved ones. It’s our choice whether we use it for good, I think. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts.

    • I agree completely with you… But unfortunately, not many are judicious enough to use it wisely nor are many humble and strong enough to admit to its misuse and willing to make amends.

      Thanks Maia for visiting my blog.

Your response

